The SE NSW Regional Training HUB

The SE NSW Regional Training HUB is a feature of the Rural Clinical School, creating opportunities for ANU Medical School students to continue prevocational and vocational training in rural Australia. We assist students and junior doctors with rural career support, and assistance with rural Internship, Resident and Registrar training positions.

The SE NSW Regional Training HUB supports the region of SENSW, encompassing Cowra, Young, Bega, Cooma, Batemans Bay and Goulburn. There are exciting opportunities in many specialities throughout this region and within rural Australia. The HUB is applying for new specialist positions in regional hospitals, supporting supervisors and partnering with LHDs, health services and training organisation to ensure junior doctors thrive in rural medicine.

The SE SW Regional Training Hub, as a partner in the Southern Regional Training Hub Alliance, has played a pivotal role in the the development of the Regional Medical Training (RMT) Website.
Our collaboration has resulted in the The Southern Regional Training Hub Alliance (SRTHA) and the NSW Hubs Network combining to expand the Regional Medical Training Website.
This website is a comprehensive resource for identifying training opportunities in South Eastern Regional Australia.

We encourage you to explore the website which allows you to search via specialties or by regions.
For any aspect of career development and specialty pathway planning, please contact us for assistance.

We are here to support you!

The team at the SE NSW Regional Training Hub are here to help medical students and junior doctors. 

We work with you to develop and customise your rural medical training pathway.

We can help you to:

  • Identify medical students with an interest in practising rurally and support them in accessing networked rural training opportunities at an early stage in their careers
  • Improve coordination of medical training to enable students and junior doctors who want to practise rurally to complete as much of their medical training as possible within regional and rural areas
  • Discuss local workforce and training options with you, explore how personal circumstances can be balanced with training requirements
  • Identify when you need to apply for which stages of applications for internships and support CV, cover letter and selection criteria writing
  • Help you to see your options that are best for you at each stage of your rural training and you keep your options flexible
  • Help you understand individual requirements of the Colleges who structure and assess your training
  • Introduce you to doctors already on your proposed pathway
  • Help regional facilities obtain accreditation so that they can provide training posts to suit your training interests
  • Help you explore research opportunities as part of your training program
  • Work with key stakeholders along the rural training pathway to lessen the “barriers” in your pathway

To understand the Medical specialty needs across NSW Health please review the NSW Health Medical Career Planning information

How to become a rural doctor

Select each Circle tab below to see what is required at each step to become a rural doctor.

Colleges information and links are under the Registrar Tab.


Map My Health Career

Map My Health Career is a website for medical students and junior medical officers to help plan and make decisions about their medical career.

Destination Medicine© Stories from rural doctors podcast launched

The just launched Destination Medicine podcast library has been created to assist anyone thinking about a career as a rural doctor to make informed decisions and navigate a rural medical pathway with greater confidence.

Will telemedicine address our rural doctors shortage?

Rural and remote Australians have far worse health outcomes than our metropolitan counterparts and we need solutions


Junior doctor support services