Warning message

Important Update:

The content from this site has been moved to https://medicine-psychology.anu.edu.au. Please visit the new site for information about our school, study programs, clinical services and more. Can't find what you're looking for? Please reach out to us on communications.smp@anu.edu.au. We value your feedback.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Doctor of Philosophy students

The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) is designed for students with a keen interest in cutting edge medical research.

The Australian National University provides research students with a vibrant research community and outstanding program support. When selecting a research program, an institution’s reputation is everything. ANU is one of the world’s leading universities, and the smart choice for your research program.

The major component of a research program is a substantial written work known as a thesis, which investigates a particular subject or issue. As a research student you will work with increased independence, under the direction of an academic supervisor and a supervisory panel of academic staff.

The Doctor of Philosophy at the ANU Medical School focuses on applied medical and clinical research. There are more than 100 conjoint staff working in The Canberra, Calvary and South East NSW hospitals and surrounding practices who have academic appointments at ANU. One aspect of the program encompasses studies that aim to translate findings from basic science (eg lab bench based study) into the clinic. Areas of active research include:

  • Aged & chronic care
  • Cancer
  • Cardiovascular & renal disease
  • Critical care & emergency medicine
  • Diabetes & endocrinology
  • Infection & immunity
  • Liver disease & gastroenterology
  • Medical education
  • Men, women & children's health
  • Neurosciences & vision
  • Nursing & midwifery
  • Primary health care, public health care & health services
  • Psychiatry & addiction medicine
  • Trauma & orthopaedic
  • Culture, health and medicine
  • Medical education


HDR Administrator

Updated:  3 June 2024/Responsible Officer:  Dean, Medical School/Page Contact:  Webmaster, Medical School