ACT Health Reconciliation Recognition Community Award

13 July 2017

The Medical School congratulates Ms Gaye Doolan who was awarded the ACT Health Reconciliation Recognition Community Award.

Ms Doolan who is the Coordinator of Indigenous Health and Student Engagement in the Medical School, won the award for her work in encouraging and supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students to consider a career in medicine, and supporting them throughout their studies. 

The award also recognised Ms Doolan's work in coordinating the ANU Medical School Indigenous Health Stream, lauded as an example of reconciliation work.

The photograph is of Gaye Doolan, Minister Meegan Fitzharris and Dr Danielle Dries. Dr Dries was the invited speaker at the function and graduated from the Doctor of Medicine and Surgery Degree (MChD) at ANU Medical School in 2016, as well as being the inaugural recipient of the Peter Sharp Scholarship.

The ACT Health Reconciliation Recognition award recognises someone who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to Reconciliation and improving health care delivery and services to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. This award is open to all staff from ACT Health and community organisations funded by ACT Health.