Public Lecture - Constitutional recognition of Indigenous Australians, Professor Mick Dodson AM

Monday 27 October 2014

Public Lecture Wednesday 12 November at 5pm in association with ANU Medical School, National Centre for Epidemiology & Population Health and Indigenous Health Interest Group. Professor Mick Dodson AM is Director of the National Centre for Indigenous Studies at the Australian National Universiy and Professor of Law at the ANU College of Law.

Professor Dodson worked with the Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service from 1976 to 1981, when he became a barrister at the Victorian Bar.

Mick joined the Northern Land Council as Senior Legal Adviser in 1984 and became Director of the Council in 1990. He is the current Chair of Council of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS), and is also a member of AIATSIS. He served for five years as a member of the Board of Trustees of the United Nations Indigenous Voluntary Fund and in January 2005, commenced a three-year appointment as a member of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues. He was subsequently reappointed for a further three years to December 2010.

Professor Dodson participated in the crafting of the text of the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in the United Nations Working Group on Indigenous Populations (WGIP), and the Inter-sessional Working Group of the Human Rights Commission which was adopted overwhelmingly in 2007 by the United Nations General Assembly.

Mick Dodson has been a prominent advocate on land rights and other issues affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, as well as a vigorous advocate of the rights and interests of indigenous peoples around the world. In 2009, Professor Dodson was named Australian of the Year by the National Australia Day Council.

Date:   Wednesday 12 November 2014

Time:  5pm-6pm, followed by refreshments

Venue: Finkel Lecture Theatre, John Curtin School, 131 Garran Road, ANU, Acton

Registration essential:

This lecture is free and open to the public.

Updated:  20 June 2018/Responsible Officer:  Dean, Medical School/Page Contact:  Webmaster, Medical School