Congratulations to Medical School Vice-Chancellor's award winners

Monday 4 May 2015

ANU has honoured its best teachers and educational innovators at the annual Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young said the awards highlight how ANU provides an outstanding higher education alongside its role as a research-intensive university.

"Underpinning this excellence is an academic community that is committed and passionate about teaching," Professor Young said.

"These awards give recognition to both academic and professional staff for teaching, supervision, program and tutoring excellence and for their contribution to student learning.

"It takes knowledge, time, care and imagination to meet the challenges of teaching in universities, and I am really pleased that so many of our staff have those qualities in abundance."

The awards, introduced in 1991, recognise and encourage excellence in both undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and research supervision at the University.

Nominations are made by Colleges and include the previous year's recipients of the College Awards as well as other nominees for the College awards. Divisions may also nominate staff for these awards.

The 2015 winners came from a range of disciplines across the University including the ANU Medical School

Award for Teaching Excellence

Associate Professor Katrina Anderson, ANU Medical School, Academic Unit of General Practice.

Award for Programs that Enhance Learning

"The Indigenous Health Stream": Led by Professor Amanda Barnard, with Ms Gaye Doolan, Ms Samia Goudie, Dr Phyll Dance, Associate Professor Jenny Thomson, Associate Professor Christine Phillips, Professor Kirsty Douglas, and Dr Jill Bestic, ANU Medical School.


Photograph by Stuart Hay, ANU Strategic Communications & Public Affairs


Updated:  23 June 2018/Responsible Officer:  Dean, Medical School/Page Contact:  Webmaster, Medical School