Awards for top ANU teachers

Sunday 21 September 2014

Three ANU teachers have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to teaching as part of the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

Acting Vice-Chancellor Margaret Harding said the recognition of Professor Imogen Mitchell, Associate Professor Christine Phillips and Dr Vinh Lu was well deserved.

"I would like to congratulate our award winners for this external recognition of their contributions to the education programs at ANU", she said.

Professor Imogen Mitchell of the ANU Medical School was honoured for developing a program which helps students recognise the signs of patient deterioration.

"I take complex medical concepts and transform them into accessible and practical building blocks of knowledge that can be easily used by newly graduated doctors," Professor Mitchell said.

"This eases their transition from medical students into safe, confident practising junior doctors - something that has far-reaching benefits for both patients and the community at large.

Associate Professor Christine Phillips, also from the ANU Medical School, was recognised for her program of teaching that aims to develop thoughtful, self-reflective students. She continues to mentor students as they become doctors and professionals in the fields of social medicine. Associate Professor Phillips said it was a great honour to receive the reward.

The Office for Learning and Teaching awards were presented at a ceremony held in Sydney on 16 September.

Prof Mitchell Citation: For leading-edge scholarly outputs in the field of clinical education that have demystified complex medical concepts and been adopted by healthcare organisations.

Associate Professor Phillips Citation: For sustained and outstanding commitment to teaching and mentoring students to become deeply engaged, reslient and reflective practioners in the health field.


Updated:  22 July 2018/Responsible Officer:  Dean, Medical School/Page Contact:  Webmaster, Medical School