$31M boost to regional medical care

Thursday 3 May 2012

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young welcomed news that ANU, the University of Canberra and the Southern General Practice Network have received joint funding to improve medical care infrastructure in the Canberra region.

“This is an important step towards improving the quality of medical care in the Canberra region. The funding provided to ANU and our partners will allow us to work together to benefit the whole community,” Professor Young said.

Awarded by the Department of Health and Ageing’s Health and Hospitals Fund, the $31 million funding will go towards upgrading clinical and training facilities in Moruya, Bega and Cooma. The project will also develop e-Health infrastructure to support shared medical records, local workforce education and specialist tele-health services for patients.  

Dean of the ANU Medical School Professor Nicholas Glasgow said the partnership has a strong focus on training medical, nursing, pharmacy and allied health students as future health professionals who will work in the region.

“The generous funds that are being provided by the Federal Government will support essential infrastructure including accommodation for medical and other health professional students training in the region, new clinical facilities and educational infrastructure” he said.

“It will also result in enhanced opportunities for our medical students to experience practice in rural and regional Australia. It provides really exciting opportunities for our students to work with students in other health disciplines, developing inter-professional working relationships across health disciplines.

“The success of this venture is a great credit to the Southern General Practice Network and the University of Canberra and to Professor Amanda Barnard and her team in the ANU Rural Clinical School, who have worked so hard to make this happen. I congratulate them all for their wonderful efforts.”

Construction of the new training facilities will commence this year and is expected to be completed by 2014.

Updated:  23 June 2018/Responsible Officer:  Dean, Medical School/Page Contact:  Webmaster, Medical School